Report on the Sixteenth Edition of the International Conference on

"Humanizing Work and Work Environment (HWWE 2018)"

HWWE 2018 was conducted during 14th to 16th 2018 at College of Engineering Trivandrum (CET). Department of Mechanical Engineering, CET and CET School of Management jointly organized the conference. The theme of the conference was technology enabled workplace design. There were 175 submissions in total and around 142 of them were accepted by the review process.



Dr. Usha Titus, (Principal Secretary to Government, Higher education Department & Vice Chancellor in-charge of the APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University) inaugurated the conference. Dr. Jiji C. V., Principal, CET presided over the inaugural function. Dr. Bijulal D., the Organising Secretary HWWE 2018 briefed the details of conference. Dr. A. K. Ganguly, President of ISE, Prof. Neena Thomas, PG Dean, CET, and Dr. Suresh Subramoniam, Chairman IIIE Trivandrum Chapter & Director CET School of Management have delivered the felicitations. Dr. A. Samson, Head of Department, Mechanical Engg. Department, CET and Chair of HWWE 2018 delivered vote of thanks.

The Conference has been enriched with the plenary sessions, lead lectures and paper presentations at 17 parallel sessions during the three days of conference. Dr. Eva Honeyman

(Chairperson of the Israel Ergonomic Association), Dr. Debkumar Chakrabarti (IIT Gauhati), Dr. A. K. Ganguli (President ISE) were presented Keynote Lectures during the first day of the conference. Dr. Jose Orlando Gomes (Treasurer, IEA), Dr. Peter Honeyman (University of Michigan), Dr. P. C. Dhara (General Secretary, ISE) and Mr. Guenter Fuhrmann have delivered keynote lectures on the second day. The sessions were enlightened with Lead lectures by Dr. M. Muzammil, AMU, Aligarh Dr. Anirudha Joshi, IIT Bombay, Dr. Rauf Iqbal, NITIE, Mumbai, Dr. Nandita Bhattacharya, Dr. Dibaker Sen, IISc. Bangalore, Dr. Ajitha D Singh and Dr. Abid Ali Khan, AMU, Aligarh. A conference workshop has been conducted by Dr. Deepak Sharan, Recoup





Out of the 142 accepted accepted submissions, 118 delegates registered and 77 papers have been presented. The technical paper presentations were conducted in four parallel venues. The papers were reported as good in academic content and quantum of work by the session chairs. The best paper awards sponsored by Springer in UG, PG and Ph.D categories have been presented in the conference. The best papers have been selected based on evaluations done by session chairs of the conference. Dr. M Muzammil, Dr.Aniradha Joshi, Dr. Rauf Iqbal, Dr. Nandita Bhattacharya, Dr. Dibaker Sen, Dr. Ajitha D. Singh, Dr. Abid Ali Khan, Dr. P. C. Dhara, Mr. Guenter Fuhrmann, Dr. Sabu K., Dr. K. Krishnakumar, Dr. K. Gopalakrishnan Nair, Dr. Sukesh Kumar, Dr. V. Ravi, Dr. A. K. Ganguli, and Dr. K. N. Dewangan have been chaired various parallel sessions.

Best Paper Award winners in UG Stream

- 1. Rahul Karumuri & Shashank Kappagilmath from NIT Calicut.
- 2. Rejoy James from Mar Baselios College of Engineering and Technology, Trivandrum.
- 3. Sandip Prakash from Shiv Nadar University.

Best Paper Award winners in PG Stream

- 1. Abhijith Suresh B. from College of Engineering Trivandrum
- 2. Baradwaj K.C. from NIT Calicut
- 3. Ayan Chatterjee, University of Calcutta, Kolkata

Best Paper Award winners in Ph.D Stream

- 1. Jayant Raj, IISc., Bangalore
- 2. Mukesh Kumar Kamti , NITIE, Mumbai
- 3. Mayank Badola, IISc., Bangalore

Dr. Satheesh Kumar, Director, National Institute of Speech and Hearing (NISH) was the Chief guest in the valedictory function. Dr. Jiji C. V. presided over the function. Dr. Suresh Subramoniam (Director School of Management) delivered welcome speech and Dr. S. A. Binoosh (Technical Committee Member HWWE 2018) summarized the conference. Dr. Bijulal D. (Organisng Secratory, HWWE 2018) delivered vote of thanks.



and the Proceedings of the Conference is brought out by M/s Springer Nature Singapore https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-981-16-1884-0